CSIR Sponsored Third National Conference Gwalior Academy of Mathematical Sciences and National Symposium April 22-23, 2006

11th annual conference of Gwalior Academy of Mathematical Sciences and National Symposium were organized at Jaypee Institute of Engineering and Technology, GUNA, from April 22nd to 23rd 2006. The conference was inaugurated on 22nd April, 2006 at 11 am by Professor M. N. Faruqui, an eminent scientist and former Vice Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University. Professor V. P. Saxena, President of GAMS, presided over the inaugural function, while Professor N. J. Rao, Director JIET welcomed the chief guest and delegates. Professor D. S. Hooda organizing sectary of the conference proposed the vote of thanks.

About 50 delegates from different states participated in the conference and had deliberations and discussions on various topics of mathematics and computational methods applicable to engineering and technology. Three plenary and five-invited lecture sessions were organized in which eminent mathematicians and scientist delivered very informatory lectures. One plenary speaker was Professor Satya Mishra who had hailed from USA . About 35 papers were presented in 6 contributed paper sessions. Professor P. K. Sharma, Head of school of mathematics Ahilya Bai University , Indore , delivered S K Dey Gaur memorial lecture. Prof. Sunil Datta, former Head of mathematics department of Lucknow University was another plenary speaker. Prof. Renu Jain, Prof. D.S.Hooda, Prof. K.R.Pardasani, Dr. Rajiv Saxena and Dr. R.C.Chakraborty delivered invited lectures.

The most attractive event of the conference was Kavi Sammelan, which was organized on the advice and blessings of Shri Jaiprakash Gaur ji on 22nd April 2006 to entertain the delegates and residents of the campus. In Kavi Sammelan six prominent poets namely, Ashok Chakardhar, Mrs Bageshwari Chakardhar, Om Vyas, Partap Faujdar, Pawan Dikshit, Prit Govind presented their poems and songs to entertain the audience. The valedictory function of the conference was held at 5 pm on 23rd April under the chairmanship of Prof. N.J.Rao, Director of JIET. Prof. V.P. Saxena was the chief guest who distributed the certificates to the Plenary and Invited speakers. Prof. K.K.Jain, Dean (academics), proposed the vote of thanks.

Prof. D.S. Hooda Department of Mathematics Organizing Secretary