Conferences: WMVC-2006

CSIR Sponsored

Third National Conference

On

Applicable Mathematics in Wqave Mechanics & Vibrations (WMVC-2006)

October 15-17, 2006

The JIET organized 3rd National conference on Applicable Mathematics in Wave Mechanics and Vibrations in collaboration with Von Karman Society for Advanced Study and Research in Mathematical and Social Sciences, Jalpaiguri, West Bengal in Oct 15-17, 2006.

Chief Patron:

Shri Jaiprakash Gaur, Managing Trustee and Pro-Chancellor, JUIT

Patron:

Shri Manoj Gaur, Trustee, JSS

National Advisory Committee:

Dr. Y. Medury, Vice-Chancellor, JUIT

Prof. K. K. Tiwari, Consultant, JIET [Ex Prof. & HOD, Chemical Engg Depart of UDCT, Bombay] Prof. A. K. Mullick, Head – Cement Research Development Centre, JIET [former Director General of National Council for Cement and Building Materials] Prof. N. J. Rao, Director, JIET Prof. K. K. Jain, Dean, JIET Brig. (Retd.) S. K. Sud, Registrar, JIET

Local Organising Committee:

Prof. D. S. Hooda, Head – Mathematics Dept

- Dr. B. K. Mohanty, Head Electronics & Comm. Engineering Dept.
- Dr. Anuj Kumar, Head Physics Dept.
- Dr. Shishir Kumar, Head Computer Science & Engg Dept.
- Dr. H. K. Mahalingam, Head Chemical Engineering Dept.
- Mr. Awaneesh Shrivastva Head Professional Development Dept.
- Dr. Charu Pathak, Electronics & Comm. Engineering Dept.
- Mr. Satish Kumar Singh, Electronics & Comm. Engineering Dept.
- Mr. Ravi Kumar, Electronics & Comm. Engineering Dept.
- Ms. Sonali Barvey, Computer Science & Engg Dept.
- Ms. Divya Agarwal, Mathematics Dept.
- Mr. V. C. Pandey, Finance Officer

Scientific Committee :

Dr. P.Biswas (Conference Co-Director) - Prof. Abhijit Mukherjee (IIT, Mumbai)

Prof. S.Karanjai (University of North Bengal) - Prof. G. C.Das (IASST, Guwahati).

Dr. M. Ganapathi (IAT, Girinagar, Pune) - Prof. J. Raamachandran (IIT, Chennai)

Prof. S. Dey (Inst. Of Tech, Bandel) - Prof. P. K. Datta (IIT, Kharagpur)

Dr. V. Balamurugan (CEAD, DRDO) - Prof. Bhola Ishwar (Muzaffarpur University)

Aims and Objectives Of WMVC:

Over the years during the 20th century every branch of Mathematics, Pure or Applied, has been enriched and developed through continuous efforts, cultivation and contribution by researchers in different fields like Social, Physical, Mathematical and Engineering Sciences. Analysis of scientific thoughts and problems of science and engineering have been made through the language of Mathematics and as a result Mathematics as a subject is continuously getting intensive development through the passage of time. The purpose of holding such conferences is to bring together, on a common platform, scientists, engineers and researchers along with other eminent academic personalities in selected applied branches. They would get ample scope to make exchange of views, ideas and thoughts besides presentation of papers and development of techniques as result of intensive research in the area of the conference-themes. Considering the importance of the titled conference in view of enormous applications of the topics in wave mechanics and vibration sciences, structural mechanics, aeronautics, nuclear and atomic power reactors, biomedical engineering, computer science and in different branches of engineering, holding of such a conference of national and global importance will open scope for attending by those persons who have been working in the area of the conference topics. It is expected that different mathematical methods and innovative skills employed in different class of problems of mathematical sciences and possible future developments will be intensively discussed during the conference.

Conference Sub - Topics :

*Nonlinear Phenomena in Mathematical and Physical Sciences,

- *Mathematical and Computational Methods, Astrophysical Problems,
- *Mechanics of Solids and Structural Mechanics,
- *Elastic Wave Mechanics, Fluid Mechanics and Plasma Physics,
- *Vibrations of Beams/Plates/Shells including Thermal and Random Vibrations,

*Thermal Stresses, Thermal Buckling and Post-Buckling Analysis,

- *Mechanical Behaviour of Structures at Elevated and Cryogenic Temperatures,
- *Boundary Value Problems,
- *Engineering, Physical and Medical Acoustics, Architectural and Highway Acoustics
- *Applications in fields like Music, Speech and Hearing
- *Recent Developments and Applications.

Conference Director

Conference Co-Director

Prof . (Dr.) N. J. Rao Director Jaypee Institute of Engineering & Technology AB Road, Raghogarh-473226 Dist –Guna (MP) E-Mail: nj.rao@jiet.ac.in,

Dr. P. Biswas

Vibration Research Group Executive Secretary, Von Karman Society for Advanced Study and Research in Mathematical & Social Sciences, Old Police Line, Jalpaiguri-735101, W.B. Phone: 03561- 256894 E-Mail : biswas_paritosh@yahoo.com

Organizing Secretary Dr. Vipin Tyagi Jaypee Institute of Engineering and Technology

Program Schedule

SUNDAY, October 15, 2006	i			
9.30 AM - 10.30 AM	Inaugural Programme			
10.30 AM – 11.00 AM	Inaugural Tea			
11.00 AM – 12.00 Noon	Technical Session Chairman : Prof. Maskara Co-Chairman : Prof Biswas			
	(Special Invited Session)			
	Dr. A. K. Mullick (Former DG, National Council for Cement and Building Materials, Ministry of Industries, GOI)			
	Dr.V.K.Agarwal (Ex- Principal, D. N. College, Meerut)			
12.00 Noon – 1.00 PM	Technical Chairman :Anirudh Pra	Session adhan Cochair:Bhola	– Ishwar	Ш
2.00 PM – 3.30 PM	Technical Chairman : Abhijit Sarl	Session kar Co-Chairman : I.I	– Husain	Ш
4.00 PM – 5.30 PM	Technical Chairman:G.Mohanty	Session Co-Chairman : Char	– u Pathak	IV
7.00 PM – 9.00 PM	Shaam-e-Ghazal			
9.00 PM – 10.00 PM	Dinner			

MONDAY, October 16, 2006

9.00 AM – 10.30 AM	Technical Chairman: M.K.Ma	Session azumdar Co-Chairman H. N	– ⁄Iahalingam	V
11.00 AM – 1.00 PM	Technical Chairman: S.Karan	Session jai Co-Chairman B K Moh	– anty	VI
2.00 PM – 3.30 PM	Technical Chairman : AV Pat	Session hak Co-Chairman Prof. Hu	– ssain	VII
4.00 P.M 5.30 P.M	Visit to GAIL			

TUESDAY, October 17, 2006

9.00 AM – 10.30 AM	Technical Chairman: V.K.Agarwal Co-	Session Chair Shishir Kumar	-	IX
11.00 AM – 1.00 PM	Technical Chairman: J H Agarwal Co-0	Session Chair: Satish Kumar	-	Х
2.00 PM – 3.30 PM	Technical Chairman: J Akhtar Co-Chai	Session irman: Anuj Kumar	-	XI
4.00 P.M 5.30 P.M	Closing Ceremony			

List of Participants:				
Dr. J.H.Agarwal(Jabalpur)	Dr.U.S.Rana(Dehradun)		Dr.Ashish Arora(Guru Nanak Dev University/Amritsar)	
Dr.Santimay Kundu(Dhanbad)	Dr.Shyam Agarwal(Bargarh/Orissa	Sundar Dr.Abhijit	ar Dr.Abhijit Sarkar , Faridabad	
Dr. Susmita Majumdar (CITM/Faridabad)	Dr.Gopal Pathak(Meeru	Dr.Anirud	Dr.Anirudh Pradhan (Gazipur)	
Mr. Deepak Srivastava (B R AMr. Sudhir Srivastav (B R A BiharMr. Badam Singh Kushvah (B R A Bihar University/Muzaffarpur) University/Muzaffarpur) Bihar University/Muzaffarpur)				
Mr. Avdesh Kumar (B R A Bih University/Muzaffarpur)	University/ Chandigarh	University	rti Khurana Panjab / Chandigarh	
Mr. Sanasam Sarat Singh PanjabDr.S.K.Tomar Panjab University/ University/ Chandigarh Chandigarh Chandigarh				
Dr.M.Ghosh, Jalpaiguri	Dr.S.Basak, Jalpaiguri		Roy Choudhury, North iversity/Darjeeling	
Mr. Z.Islam, North Beng University/Darjeeling	al Dr.P.Biswas, Jalpaiguri	Prof. S.R.E	Das, Calcuta	
Mr. Bapi Karmakar, Jalpaiguri	Jigar Gandhi, Sci/Engr 'SC', ISRO, Dr.V.K.Agarwal(Meerut) Ahmedabad			
Dr.Durgesh Pant	Dr. Sarika Sharma(New	elhi) Dr.Ashish Institute/	Saxena (Amrapali Haldwani)	
Dr.P.S.Das(Calcutta)	P.K.Sahu (! University/Orissa)	mbalpurS.K.Sahoo University		
Dr.Anuj Kumar, JIET	Mr.Satish Kumar Singh,	ET Mr.Ravi K	umar, JIET	
Dr. H.Mahalingam, JIET	Dr.Shishir Kumar, JIET	Ms. Sonal	i Barvey, JIET	
Dr. Charu Pathak, JIET	Ms. Divya Agrawal, JIET D.S.He		, JIET	
Dr. VipinTyagi, JIET				

Dr. Vipin Tyagi Department of CSE Organizing Secretary